BREAKING NEWS: Arsenal, Liverpool, Man Utd and Spurs join Super League exodus in remarkable U-turn – Soccer News

Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham have all confirmed they are withdrawing from the proposed European Super League.

England’s so-called “big six” announced on Sunday their involvement in the development of a European Super League with Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Juventus, Milan and Inter.

But less than 48 hours after those plans were confirmed, the competition has been left in ruins with the English sides turning their back on it.

Manchester City were the first to reveal they had in motion their decision to withdraw, while Chelsea have also begun such proceedings, though an official announcement is yet to be made.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Spurs and United – who earlier on Tuesday confirmed club chief Ed Woodward will be leaving the club at the end of 2021 in an apparently unrelated move – then released simultaneous statements ending their association with the competition.

United and Liverpool made brief statements that highlighted the input of “key stakeholders” but failed to offer apologies. A Reds spokesperson said: “Liverpool Football Club can confirm that our involvement in proposed plans to form a European Super League has been discontinued.

“In recent days, the club has received representations from various key stakeholders, both internally and externally, and we would like to thank them for their valuable contributions.”

The Red Devils added: “Manchester United will not be participating in the European Super League. We have listened carefully to the reaction from our fans, the UK government and other key stakeholders.

“We remain committed to working with others across the football community to come up with sustainable solutions to the long-term challenges facing the game.”

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button