GSOC announces Champions Cup, Players’ Championship game schedules

Kerri Einarson will kick off her quest for a third consecutive title in the curling hub city at WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park in Calgary taking on Team Homan in next week’s opening draw of the Humpty’s Champions Cup.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Wednesday the draw and broadcast schedules for the Humpty’s Champions Cup, April 14-18, and the Princess Auto Players’ Championship, April 20-25.

Einarson, from Gimli, Man., aims to keep her winning streak in the bubble running after successfully defending the Scotties Tournament of Hearts title in February and capturing the Canadian mixed doubles championship with Brad Gushue last month.

Although Team Einarson defeated Team Homan in the Scotties Tournament of Hearts final, it isn’t going to be a straight rematch in the Humpty’s Champions Cup opening draw. Skip Rachel Homan will miss the two Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events after giving birth to daughter Bowyn late last month. Third Emma Miskew is taking the reins in the interim for the Ottawa-based club with Edmonton’s Laura Walker joining as a super spare.

The Humpty’s Champions Cup and Princess Auto Players’ Championship were cancelled last year and the start of this season was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Complying with government health and safety protocols within the hub city, the Humpty’s Champions Cup and Princess Auto Players’ Championship will feature 12 of the top men’s teams and 12 of the top women’s teams based on the world team rankings. Both men’s and women’s divisions are split into two groups for pool play with the top six teams advancing to the playoffs.

Team Einarson took the 2019 Players’ Championship in Toronto and finished runners-up to Switzerland’s Team Tirinzoni in the 2019 Humpty’s Champions Cup in Saskatoon.

Edmonton’s Team Bottcher enter as the reigning men’s champions for both events and begin their Humpty’s Champions Cup title defence in the first draw taking on Team Schwaller of Switzerland. Also on tap for the opener are Toronto’s Team Epping vs. Team Gunnlaugson of Morris, Man., and Calgary’s Team Koe vs. Team Edin of Sweden.

Team Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., and Sweden’s Team Hasselborg won their third consecutive Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling titles at the Meridian Canadian Open in January 2020 before play was halted and will look to pick up where they left off in the series. Team Hasselborg begin competition against Scotland’s Team Muirhead in Draw 2. Team Jacobs start against Winnipeg’s Team McEwen in Draw 3. Reigning Humpty’s Champions Cup women’s champions Team Tirinzoni also get their run underway in Draw 3 against Winnipeg’s Team Jones.

WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park has hosted the Humpty’s Champions Cup twice in the past. Jacobs captured the men’s title in 2017 with Gushue victorious in 2018 while Homan claimed both women’s titles.

Both events are closed to the general public. A grand total purse of $560,000 CAD is on the line.

Broadcast coverage for the Humpty’s Champions Cup begins April 15 at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on Sportsnet with online streaming available at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

Humpty’s Champions Cup

Wednesday, April 14

Draw 1, 8:30 a.m. MT: Einarson vs. Homan, Epping vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Schwaller, Edin vs. Koe

Draw 2, 12:30 p.m. MT: Hasselborg vs. Muirhead, Fleury vs. Kim, Mouat vs. De Cruz, Gushue vs. Dunstone

Draw 3, 4:30 p.m. MT: Jacobs vs. McEwen, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Homan, Jones vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 4, 8:30 p.m. MT: Epping vs. Bottcher, Schwaller vs. Koe, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson, Einarson vs. Peterson

Thursday, April 15

Draw 5, 8 a.m. MT: Fleury vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Kim, Mouat vs. McEwen

Draw 6, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Homan vs. Kovaleva, Stern vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Fujisawa, Schwaller vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 7, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Mouat vs. Dunstone, McEwen vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Gushue, Bottcher vs. Koe

Draw 8, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet 360): Tirinzoni vs. Kim, Epping vs. Edin, Jones vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Fleury

Friday, April 16

Draw 9, 8 a.m. MT: Gushue vs. De Cruz, Jacobs vs. Dunstone, Stern vs. Kovaleva, Fujisawa vs. Peterson

Draw 10, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Fleury vs. Muirhead, Hasselborg vs. Tirinzoni, Epping vs. Koe, Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 11, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Fujisawa vs. Stern, Einarson vs. Kovaleva, Homan vs. Peterson, Jones vs. Kim

Draw 12, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Schwaller vs. Edin, Gushue vs. Mouat, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Saturday, April 17

Draw 13, Noon MT (Sportsnet ONE): Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Men’s and women’s semifinals

Sunday, April 18

Draw 16, 9 a.m. MT (Sportsnet and Sportsnet ONE): Men’s final

Draw 17, 1:30 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Women’s final

Princess Auto Players’ Championship

Tuesday, April 20

Draw 1, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Edin vs. De Cruz, Fleury vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Gunnlaugson, Homan vs. Kovaleva

Draw 2, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet NOW): Gushue vs. McEwen, Stern vs. Tirinzoni, Jones vs. Muirhead, Bottcher vs. Mouat

Draw 3, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet 360): Einarson vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Fujisawa, Epping vs. Schwaller, Koe vs. Dunstone

Wednesday, April 21

Draw 4, 8 a.m. MT: Bottcher vs. Gunnlaugson, Mouat vs. Edin, Fleury vs. Stern, Jacobs vs. De Cruz

Draw 5, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Fujisawa vs. Muirhead, Jones vs. Kovaleva, Peterson vs. Kim, Hasselborg vs. Homan

Draw 6, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet NOW): Schwaller vs. Koe, Epping vs. Gushue, McEwen vs. Dunstone, Fleury vs. Tirinzoni

Draw 7, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet East, Ontario and Pacific): Jacobs vs. Mouat, De Cruz vs. Gunnlaugson, Bottcher vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Stern

Thursday, April 22

Draw 8, 8 a.m. MT: Jones vs. Homan, McEwen vs. Koe, Fujisawa vs. Kovaleva, Hasselborg vs. Muirhead

Draw 9, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Stern vs. Kim, Jacobs vs. Edin, Einarson vs. Tirinzoni, Fleury vs. Peterson

Draw 10, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Schwaller vs. McEwen, Gushue vs. Dunstone, Mouat vs. Gunnlaugson, Epping vs. Koe

Draw 11, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Sportsnet ONE): Hasselborg vs. Kovaleva, Bottcher vs. De Cruz, Homan vs. Muirhead, Fujisawa vs. Jones

Friday, April 23

Draw 12, 8 a.m. MT: Tirinzoni vs. Peterson, Einarson vs. Kim, Epping vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Schwaller

Draw 13, Noon MT (Sportsnet): Fujisawa vs. Homan, Muirhead vs. Kovaleva, Jacobs vs. Bottcher, Edin vs. Gunnlaugson

Draw 14, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Einarson vs. Fleury, Stern vs. Peterson, Hasselborg vs. Jones, Tirinzoni vs. Kim

Draw 15, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Mouat vs. De Cruz, Schwaller vs. Dunstone, Gushue vs. Koe, Epping vs. McEwen

Saturday, April 24

Draw 16, Noon MT (Sportsnet West, Pacific and Sportsnet 360): Tiebreakers (if necessary)

Draw 17, 4 p.m. MT (Sportsnet 360): Men’s and women’s quarterfinals

Draw 18, 8 p.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet 360): Men’s and women’s semifinals

Sunday, April 25

Draw 19, 9:30 a.m. MT (Sportsnet ONE): Women’s final

Draw 20, 2 p.m. MT (Sportsnet and Sportsnet ONE): Men’s final

Note: Games that are broadcasted are also available online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button