IPL 2022 Format: IPL all set for format change from 2022, BCCI confirms 74 matches, 7 home & 7 away games for each team

IPL 2022 Format: IPL all set for format change from 2022, BCCI official confirms, ‘No window for 10-team home and away system’

IPL 2022 Format – 10-team IPL 2022 to change format – for The IPL 2022 is all set for a massive change. As InsideSport reported in September, the BCCI will revert to a 74-match tournament with the introduction of Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises. The teams will play 7 home games and 7 away matches but instead of the round-robin system, it will revert to group system. The BCCI confirmed on Monday the change – Follow all LIVE Updates from IPL 2022 on

Also Read: IPL New Teams: Lucknow franchise owner Sanjeev Goenka to InsideSport, ‘We…

Also READ: IPL 2022 New Teams: BCCI richer by ₹12,715 Crore, Lucknow franchise…

“The new franchises will participate in IPL from 2022 season onwards subject to the bidders completing the post-bid formalities as specified in the ITT document. The IPL 2022 season will comprise ten teams and will have 74 matches, wherein each team will play 7 home and 7 away matches,” the BCCI said in a statement.

IPL 2022 Format: IPL all set for format change from 2022, BCCI confirms 74 matches, 7 home & 7 away games for each team

IPL 2022 Format – How the format will work in IPL 15? 

  • It is likely to replicate the model used in the 2011 season, which also featured 10 teams, and had teams split into two loose groups.
  • During the league phase, each team played seven home and seven away games.
  • Each team played the other four in their group both home and away (eight matches), four of the teams in the other group once each (four matches, either home or away), and the remaining team in the other group twice, both home and away.
  • The 70 league matches were then followed by four Playoff games.
  • With the inclusion of two new teams from IPL 2022, as per the current format, the number of matches would have increased to 94, a staggering amount.
  • Hence, it would have required at least 74 days to accommodate all the matches. But as ICC is unwilling to allow a longer window and other cricket boards expected not to grant NOC for a longer period considering Future Tours Programme (FTP), BCCI will revert to IPL 2011 format with two groups of five each.

“Ideally we do want to have home and away format but playing 94 matches during a season is not feasible. It will take over 70 days and will put a lot of strain on the players. There will be a change in format for sure. We haven’t decided on it yet and we already have a format for 10-team. But we will take a final call after discussing with all the stakeholders at a later stage,” the BCCI official told InsideSport.

More details about how the bidding went for the two new IPL Teams? 

Sanjeev Goenka’s RPSG Group & former F1 promoter CVC Capitals has bagged new IPL franchises. RPSG has got Lucknow franchise & CVC Capitals surprised favorite Adani Group to bag Ahmedabad franchise.

New IPL teams: Sanjiv Goenka-owned RPSG group claims Lucknow franchise with over Rs 7,000 crore bid.

  • The RPSG Group have picked Lucknow as their home base with a winning bid of INR 7090 crores
  • CVC Capital have opted for Ahmedabad with a bid of INR 5625 crores.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button