Men’s Swimming Championship to Begin Tuesday

2 hours ago

Photo: Chamberlain Smith/SEC

The 2021 SEC Men’s Swimming Championship is set to take place February 23-26 at the Mizzou Aquatics Center in Columbia, Mo.

This marks the first time in 35 years that the SEC Championships will be held at separate venues. In 1986, the women’s swimming & diving championship was held in Knoxville, Tenn. and the men’s championship in Baton Rouge, La.

The championship will start on Tuesday with time trials along with the 200 medley relay and the 800 free relay. Wednesday’s schedule includes the 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free and 200 free relay. On Thursday, events include the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free, 100 breaststroke, 100 back and 400 medley relay. Friday is the final day of the championship with the 1650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breaststroke, 200 fly and 400 free relay.

All sessions of the SEC Men’s Swimming Championship will be available to view live on SEC Network+.

Last year, Florida won its eighth consecutive and 41st overall title in men’s swimming & diving with a final score of 1,194 points. Texas A&M finished second with 975.5 points, and Georgia placed third with 953.5 points. Previous winners from current member institutions are Florida (1937-41, 1953-54, 1956-68, 1970-71, 1979-81, 1983-86, 1990-93, 2013-20), Auburn (1994-95, 1997-2012), Tennessee (1969, 1972-78, 1989, 1996), Georgia (1951-52, 1955), Alabama (1982, 1987) and LSU (1988). Former member Georgia Tech won four championship titles (1942, 1948-50).

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button