Sports

NHL announces plans for Canucks to resume practice, return to play


The NHL has announced that the Vancouver Canucks will return to practice on April 11 and begin playing games again on April 16, pending Saturday’s COVID-19 test results.

The schedule changes include 13 new dates for games in the North Division with the final game scheduled for May 16.

According to a statement from the Canucks, the team will resume off-ice training and limited individual practice sessions from April 11-13. Daily media availabilities over Zoom will return on April 12 while regular on-ice group practice with media in attendance will resume on April 14.

The Canucks’ COVID-19 outbreak began with forward Adam Gaudette testing positive for COVID-19 on March 30 and eventually 19 players, three members of the taxi squad and four staff remembers would also test positive. The first positive cases came after the Canucks had a six-day break between games and, according to Sportsnet’s Iain MacIntyre, the outbreak originated in a restaurant. B.C. allowed indoor dining during the month of March but has since banned it.

“It’s not an accident that it occurred when it did with what’s going on in the broader community,” Team physician Dr. Jim Bovard said in a press conference Friday. “Just like all the other workplaces, everybody is following and trying to follow (safety guidelines) to the best of their ability, all the protocols in place, and we’re no different in that way. But we work and live in the City of Vancouver.

“There’s no culprit here other than the COVID virus itself. Everybody’s been working incredibly hard in the last year trying to avoid getting it, and in spite of their best efforts, this can happen. What I’m seeing going on here in the organization is not much different than what I’ve seen in my own office with people in all walks of life, all workplaces.”

Under the revised schedule the Canucks will play their final 19 games over a span of 31 days. Below are all of the scheduled changes announced by the NHL Saturday.

Following are the changes to the North Division schedule:

Edmonton at Vancouver, scheduled for May 4, is now scheduled for April 16 at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT

Calgary at Vancouver, scheduled for March 31, is now scheduled for April 21 at 10 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Toronto, scheduled for April 30, is now scheduled for April 29 at 7:30 p.m. ET/ 4:30 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Calgary, scheduled for April 10, is now scheduled for May 3 at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Edmonton, scheduled for April 3, is now scheduled for May 4 at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Edmonton, scheduled for April 12, is now scheduled for May 8 at 10 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. PT

Ottawa at Calgary, scheduled for April 20, is now scheduled for May 9 at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Winnipeg, scheduled for April 4, is now scheduled for May 10 at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Winnipeg, scheduled for April 6, is now scheduled for May 11 at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Toronto at Ottawa, scheduled for May 10, is now scheduled for May 12 at 7:30 p.m. ET/ 4:30 p.m. PT

Vancouver at Edmonton, scheduled for April 14, is now scheduled for May 13 at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT

Calgary at Vancouver, scheduled for May 8, is now scheduled for May 15 at TBD

Vancouver at Calgary, scheduled for April 8, is now scheduled for May 16 at TBD

In addition to the games changing dates, two games will now start at new times.

Toronto at Vancouver, scheduled for April 19, is now scheduled to start at 9 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. PT

Edmonton at Montreal, scheduled May 10, is now scheduled to start at 7 p.m. ET





Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button