Seven from SEC named to Bowerman Watch List

34 minutes ago

Photo: Walt Beazley/Arkansas Razorbacks

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 5, 2021)—–Seven Southeastern Conference track and field student-athletes have been named to the Bowerman Watch List, it was announced by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Six SEC female student-athletes were named to the watch list: Texas A&M’s Tyra Gittens, Georgia’s Anna Hall, Auburn’s Joyce Kimeli, LSU’s Tonea Marshall, Texas A&M’s Athing Mu and Kentucky’s Abby Steiner. Ten male athletes and 10 female athletes were named to the Bowerman Preseason Watch List.

LSU’s JuVaughn Harrison was named to the men’s watch list. Also receiving votes from the SEC are Texas A&M’s Devin Dixon, Georgia’s Johannes Erm, LSU’s Terrance Laird, Florida’s Thomas Mardal and Tennessee’s Carey McLeod.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field’s most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman in five of the last six years in which the award was presented: Texas A&M’s Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida’s Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas’ Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee’s Christian Coleman in 2017 and Florida’s Grant Holloway in 2019.


Women’s Watch List — March 3

Chanel Brissett, Texas (Sprints/Hurdles)

Tyra Gittens, Texas A&M (Combined Events)

Anna Hall, Georgia (Combined Events)

Joyce Kimeli*, Auburn (Distance)

Tonea Marshall, LSU (Hurdles)

Athing Mu, Texas A&M (Sprints/Mid-Distance)

Abby Steiner*, Kentucky (Sprints)

Twanisha Terry, Southern California (Sprints)

Ruth Usoro, Texas Tech (Jumps)

Courtney Wayment*, BYU (Mid-Distance/Distance)

* watch list career debuts

Also receiving votes

Julien Alfred, Texas (Sprints)

Angie Annelus, Southern California (Sprints)

Samantha Noennig, Arizona State (Throws)


Men’s Watch List — March 4

Trey Cunningham, Florida State (Hurdles)

Gleb Dudarev, Kansas (Throws)

JuVaughn Harrison, LSU (Jumps)

Cole Hocker*, Oregon (Distance)

Charlie Hunter, Oregon (Mid-Distance)

KC Lightfoot, Baylor (Pole Vault)

Tripp Piperi, Texas (Throws)

Sam Tanner*, Washington (Mid-Distance)

Cooper Teare, Oregon (Distance)

Turner Washington*, Arizona State (Throws)

Also receiving votes

Trevor Bassitt, Ashland (Sprints/Hurdles)

Devin Dixon, Texas A&M (Mid-Distance/Relays)

Johannes Erm, Georgia (Combined Events)

Isaac Grimes, Florida State (Jumps)

Terrance Laird, LSU (Sprints)

Thomas Mardal, Florida (Throws)

Carey McLeod, Tennessee (Jumps)

Randolph Ross, North Carolina A&T (Sprints)

Micah Williams, Oregon (Sprints)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button